Retirement Board Members

Appointed Positions                                                                                    Term Expires

James E. Shotwell, Jr. (Steve) (County Commissioner)                                   May 31, 2022
​Chairperson                                                                                                         jshotwel@mijackson.org
​120 West Michigan Avenue
Jackson, Michigan 49201 ​
​(
517) 783-1258 (Work)
​(517) 748-0253 (Home)

Rodney Walz (County Commissioner)                                                                 May 31, 2021
​120 West Michigan Avenue                                                                                  
rwalz@mijackson.org
​Jackson, Michigan 49201
​(517) 937-2688

Denise Owens (General)                                                                                     May 31, 2020
​200 W. Ganson St.                                                                                               dowens@mijackson.org

Jackson, MI 49202
​(517) 768-5201 (Work)

Employee Elected Positions

Tracey Johnson (General – AFSCME)                                                              March 31, 2021
​1697 Lansing Avenue                                                                                         
tjohnson@mijackson.org
​Jackson, MI 49202 ​
​(517) 768-6530 (Work)​

Nick Warner (General – COAM)                                                                        May 31, 2022
​212 W. Wesley                                                                                                   
nwarner@mijackson.org
​Jackson, Michigan 49201​
​(517) 768-7973 (Work) ​

Robert Griffis (JCDOT - Nonunion)                                                                   May 31, 2020
​2400 N. Elm                                                                                                       
bgriffis2@mijackson.org
​Jackson, MI 49201
 (517) 768-6222 (Work)

Public Member


​Sharon Best
(Non-county employee)                                                                June 30, 2020
120 W. Michigan Avenue                                                                                   
sjbest11@comcast.net
​Jackson, Michigan 49201 ​(517) 789-9022 (Home)​

RETIREMENT SYSTEM STAFF – BOARD OF TRUSTEE CONTACT



​Jessica Gerlach, Pension Coordinator                                                             jgerlach@mijackson.org
​120 West Michigan Avenue, 7th Floor ​
​Jackson, Michigan 49201 ​
​Phone: (517) 788-4339​
​Fax: (517) 768-6713 ​

Cathy Applegate, Pension Coordinator Assistant                                           capplegate@mijackson.org
​120 West Michigan Avenue, 7th Floor                                                

​Jackson, Michigan 49201 ​
​Phone: (517) 788-4339
​Fax: (517) 768-6713