Forms & Information

All motions and bonds must be filed with the court according to the instructions below. Our mailing address is:
310 S Jackson Street
Jackson, MI 49201

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact our office at 517-788-4250.

Motion to Set Aside Default Judgment


Pursuant to Michigan Court Rule, a defendant may move to set aside a default judgment within 21 days after the court sends notice of the judgment to the defendant. If the fine has not already been paid, a bond must be posted in the amount of the fine due. This bond may be made in the form of cash, official check, or certified check. No money orders, personal checks or credit cards will be accepted.

Access the Motion to Set Aside Default Judgment (PDF).

Motion for Relief From Civil Infraction Judgment


Michigan Court Rule 2.612 sets forth the criteria for which one may request relief from a civil judgment. This Motion does not affect the finality of a judgment or suspend its operation. A bond may be required when filing a Motion for Relief; please contact our office directly for more information.

Access the Motion for Relief from Civil Infraction Judgment (PDF).

Do Not Send Cash


The court does not encourage sending cash in the mail.

Claim of Appeal Right


Appeal of Right after Informal Hearing: Pursuant to Michigan Court Rule (MCR) 4.101(H)(2), an appeal following an informal hearing is a matter of right, and must be asserted in writing, within 7 days after the decision, on a form to be provided by the Court (CIA05). The appeal will result in a de novo formal hearing. A defendant who appeals must post a bond equal to the fine and costs imposed. A defendant who has paid the fine and costs is not required to post a bond.

Appeal of Right after Formal Hearing: Pursuant to Michigan Court Rule (MCR) 4.101(H)(1), an appeal following a formal hearing is a matter of right, and must be filed within 21 days after the entry of the order or judgment appealed from. (MCR) 7.100

A defendant who appeals (appellant) must post a bond equal to the fine and costs imposed. A defendant who has paid the fine and costs is not required to post a bond. The defendant must also file a "motion fee" with the Circuit Court, which may or may not be attached to the Claim of Appeal filed with the District Court.

Access the Claim of Appeal of Right form (PDF).

Request to Withdraw Admission


Pursuant to Michigan Court Rule 4.101(H)(3), a defendant may, within 14 days of his/her admission, file a written request to withdraw the admission. If the case is still open, he/she must post a bond in the total amount of fines and costs due. If the defendant previously paid the fines and costs, no bond is necessary. This bond may be made in the form of cash, official check, or certified check. No money orders, personal checks or credit cards will be accepted.

Access the Request to Withdraw Admission form (PDF).

Do Not Send Cash


The court does not encourage sending cash in the mail.